Last World Problems…

I have known people to have almost shared a used condom….LastWorldProblems….

My colleague once complained that the free condoms given out on Campus, which were Made in China, were for the Chinese and not Blacks because they didn’t fit and tore easily…gruesome as that joke was, it did explain to me what Last World problems are…

Today as I watched the News, Nodding Disease had been cubbed down, well, thanks mostly to some white philanthropists whilst Parliamentarians kept on asking for a pay rise and are arguing about the 39 billion shillings allocated to the health sector which am not sure at what stage it has reached now…

A 19 year old inherited the Parliamentary Seat/Role after her father’s passing on, and am wondering what criteria is being used to put people in parliament….I mean there is over 150 districts and they want to add some more apparently on the Job creation front…and she is the MP of a county. Do counties have MPs? Or Parish chiefs…

I sit here secluded in my confines, struggling to make ends meet, living on miserly allowances from small jobs, waiting to be paid for the big Ideas I have locked up in my head…

My parents are hard working, like any other, trying to make ends meet, with the fees, food and clothing piling up, and a bunch of succubuses/succubi or just plain succubus who I call my relatives are there mulching on these little funds…which brings me to this post’s aim….

THE MISGUIDED PERCEPTION OF GRANDER THE POOR AFRICAN HAS OF THE RICH ONE…

My relatives have gotten the impression that because my father drives a car, and my mother owns one too, that they are wealthy. They forget though, that the House in which he lives in is owned by the University and if they were to lay him off, he would be homeless…that he has a family of his own to feed…that after 20 years + of supporting them, they still are dependant on him…that he took them to school and drunk themselves silly…that the house he built in the village is his not theirs…that as much as he’s trying to live by example…they still have failed to get the point.

I was told that the reason many African parents had lots and lots of children was because of the Ugly Duckling Syndrome…that, yes,  many children may be ugly to raise, frustrate and may not exactly be of beauty but when they grow up, they in turn shall raise their parents hence become beautiful then.

Further more, if 1 out of the 7 children you had ever made it big, that there would be the success story the village will tell of…a Tale of promise and probably the hope that the more children you have, the higher your probability of having a successful child.

The only query with this ideal is that the remaining 6 become baggage for that one duckling to carry and with time, the beauty of the ugly duckling begins to fade, why, over dependency and milking of the little wealth it has. Forgive my use of many analogies and metaphors…but simply put;

The Ugly Duckling Syndrome is where an African Parent has enough children (usually above 5+) hoping that one will become successful and get them out of their misery, which never really works out that well.

Extended family is good, but that is if you actually have the potential and capacity to build something but in Africa’s case, where nepotism and tribalism are high, all businesses and jobs that involve family ultimately fail because they drain the few resources they have on misguided delusions of grander…a lack of professionalism to say.

I dont know where am going with this, but bare with me…

I have a cousin staying at our place, and I dont mind, but for someone ( 25+ year old) to hopelessly sit on the television the whole WEEK and claim they are jobless or are looking for a job doesn’t sound right.

For a parent (aunt/uncle) to tell their daughter to look for a “husband” who can provide just puts to shame this African ideology that seems to be everywhere. Young girls going in for loveless marriages just for the sake of wealth, young girls going in for already married men, just for the sake of wealth…this cant continue…again, misguided delusion to grander…

Anyway, that again is not the reason I type out this long post…

I am frustrated by the government…why, well, there is a lot of talk, and we the people suffer…

Recently I was arguing with a Doctor, telling him that the Ministry of Health has the money, is given money but its not run by a Doctor so how do you expect a politician to assume they understand what you are going through…It does make sense. Why should non-qualified people do jobs for the qualified people. How does a non Doctor run a ministry of Health? Hospitals, Clinics and Dispensaries are run down…labour and man power low, angry and unpaid…patients sleeping on floors cracked and stinking with secretion of patients that have splayed in that same spot before…why?

TASO closed.

TASO closed.

THE AIDS SUPPORT ORGANISATION CLOSED…WHY? Lack of funding! I am speechless and for the people out there who it helped, thank God, for those who it was supposed to help, why not empower people willing to create and make change. When I got wind of this, I remember a friend who recently passed on, and how he could have been helped but because some inconsiderate fools run the system, such is not the case…

So, my parents are well to do…own some little real estate deep down in the villages. It brings some thing to at least feed and provide for the family. Recently we were called by Town clerk to pay property tax. Surprise surprise, that is what I was. On inferring as to why we should pay now when we last paid years ago, the gentleman couldn’t explain. In my mind, he looked like he wanted a free allowance. This was money that had never been accounted for…never budgeted and if paid, will never have been ‘received’ and again I wonder why this continues to happen…

Reminds me of the time I was recently confronted by the police. I showed him the relevant documents and the car was in mint condition…and that’s is when I got to know about his sick child, bedridden wife, and no food…I ask, how does all that concern me or my proper driving? Or how is it connected to the  me driving properly on the roads…

Anyways, hit my 1000 word count…and well, I didn’t want this to be any longer than it already has…but well, these are last World problems…doing the right thing now feels wrong…depending on your definition of right…

In a public lecture recently, my professor asked (after his tour to major cities around the world), why wasn’t Kampala and Uganda well developed and ‘ modern’ like the other cities?

My first answer was well, if the need arises, then maybe we shall develop. The simple basics of Cause and Effect —>>[Revolver 2005 – Jason Statham]

And as the discussion continued, I remembered one of my trips recently to Dubai (best one so far) and how on the streets I saw posters of the 2020 Expo…and in a conversation, a colleague had told me that that was the destination to be when that time came. In my mind, this expo was 8 years ahead…and I brushed it off then…

Suddenly it clicked…

When the discussion turned to what we needed to do, I quickly put up my hand…

All great cities have a vision. Look at the recently concluded London Olympics…a vision that started 5 years ago…Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Rio 2016, South Africa 2010….all great cities have vision…maybe that is what we nee…

The professor nodded, and in him, I think the light bulb clicked…

So…maybe we need little visions of our own…little cities in our heads we have to go to, to be like in a couple of years…maybe that is the change we need…maybe thats the change we are looking for…the power to have VISION…

Lastly…#LastWordProblems – The lack of a vision and vision…

Peace…

Quote…Before tabling an argument, know, know what lies on both sides. Its important to be well informed on the side against you..information is all the power you need…

Religion isn’t a tool…its a belief system, so apart from praying, maybe working at doing something is all the prayer you need.

2 thoughts on “Last World Problems…

  1. You are brilliant!! We can’t accomplish anything if we don’t have a vision. That’s exactly what my country lacks a vision to guide to a destination.
    Africa should be advancing.. on the contrary, we are going backwards. It is truly sad. God help us!

Leave a Reply

