Mob Justice

I have a feeling I’ve written about this before but I can’t seem to trace the post. It’s a sad day when somebody is killed because of unfortunate circumstances. I weep for the mother who woke up to such sad news. What happened two weekends ago should never have happened, and must never happen. I hate violence, and whether someone stole something from me, violence is not the solution. Violence is never the solution. Should never be the way.

About two weekends ago, David Ojok, a graduate IT student was lynched by fellow students mistaking him for a thief. In an unfortunate series of events – seeing as the propagators were never caught, he lost his life. Some students from the famed and notorious Nkrumah hall (formerly called Northcote) bragged about it online not knowing who the victim was. A gruesome photo was shared and some unknowingly cheered. My first reaction when the photo was shared was, did Ojok deserve this? Was the mob even aware of why they were lynching? Do these people value life?

A bunch of students came out calling for blood but whose blood? The university has not come out to say anything? No one from Nkrumah hall has come out to say anything? It is quite unfortunate. How do you take your brother’s life?

I made a draft of this post about a week ago but couldn’t get myself to post it because the anger I felt then would only just manifest without me sharing exactly what I am trying to put across. In a society that cherishes the adage ‘spare the rod, spoil the child’  – of applying the rod to avoid spoiling the child, this has clearly affected our perspective of what justice is. Schools cain/beat children because of various shortcomings/ or the so called indiscipline. Schools beat children for failing in class. Schools beat children for coming to class/school late. Our society’s dependence on the whip/cain has distorted our sense of justice and is pretty much why we are violent. It is human nature to love and care. We have been desensitized by the whip we resort to the whip whenever we want or seek justice.

David died. For something lifeless, a life was taken. Do people even value life? These students who took his life have blood on their hands. I know, cliché but fact is, some things have a ripple effect. I hope for one that David’s family can have solace, can find a peace where no justice was given.

I don’t even want to talk about the Xenophobia down south. The fact that authorities there are aloof of the situation goes to show how bad the situation is. I’d want to say Madiba didn’t die for this, but he’s not the only African father moving in his grave. Like I said, people who seek violence as a form of justice clearly don’t know what justice is.

Leave a Reply

