Perspective

As you go to bed tonight, say a prayer, for yourself and for that prostitute who has to start work this evening to make ends meet tomorrow.

There’s moments of clarity in life especially after there’s a sudden loss in your life, and that for me has been the sudden passing of my friend Julie. For as long as I met and had known Julie, I’d never met such a kindred and kind spirit. That night for me will forever be seared in my mind for I said bye to her at 11:00am, and got a call at midnight, an hour later saying that Julie was unconscious and in hospital. I’ve never driven as madly to the hospital as I did that night, and as I did, I said a prayer and kept on calling for divine intervention but my body kept on getting chills.

I was at the hospital in under 15 minutes, rushing and looking for where she was. I ran through corridors and down stairs asking everyone where Julie was before I was directed to a room with two friends waiting. As I looked around, a doctor walked in wherein I asked how my friend was doing. Doctor turned to me and said,

“Julie is dead!”

But? The person I had called only 15 minutes, a strange voice I had never heard had told me to rush to hospital because Julie was unconscious and she needed family right now. What did the doctor mean by that? The doctor went on to ask me to go into the room and see her, which I couldn’t. This was not happening! This was not true. What do you mean she had been involved in a boda boda accident?  And why wasn’t she conscious?

I stared at the hospital walls not believing what I had just heard. I looked around with confusion. This was not happening.

And I still can’t believe that we are here without you. The promises we had made to each other, and the great things we were going to achieve. I am sad, I hurt, but I know you are well and happy. That’s what you have always been.

So, I’ve decided to be of help to anyone who comes to me and I can offer them as much.

I drive by the Nakasero streets every other evening of the night and see young girls stand there in the cold, looking for a penny. I don’t know of their reasons why they are there, they could be a thousand, but I’ve decided to say a prayer, if I can not tangibly help. I’ve decided to pray for those in need and help those I can. This does not absolve me from anything or doesn’t change much to the people, but I want to come to the greatness you had my dear friend and sister. Rest well.

Leave a Reply

