Growth

It’s about that time of the year to review and renew what we claimed we would be/do/answer to/reflect/achieve in 2017.

I for one had the simplest resolutions. I mean, after two years of excruciating and painstaking brain storming, I came to the realization that when it comes to resolutions, we will always most likely fall short. I failed twice, coming really close the second time.

I just realized that in making resolutions and chasing after them, I was only growing. A growth that was compounded only when I achieved the resolutions. Now I am not saying that you should throw out those resolutions – for those that take it as serious as I do, I am just saying that it’s time to reinvent the way you achieve your growth.

In this case, I am talking about the youthful generation. I barely have the experience to talk about some generational gaps. I am well versed with my own to some extent. Anyway, looking back and reviewing my 2014 through to my 2017, I kept on asking myself one question, ‘Am I on the right track?’ This is a question I’ve kept on asking myself and came to the conclusion that I might just never have an answer to that.

We live in a generation so obsessed with over achieving at a young age – don’t get me wrong, I actually admire that – but forgets that every thing needs time, and patience. We get caught up in trying to be where we should be whilst skipping the process.

From failed jobs to a failed business, I finally realized what my niche was and thus I knew what to do and how to go about it. I realized by focusing my energies around that niche, bidding my time and being PATIENT was a major key. And as time ticked, and I failed to achieve my resolutions/goals, I came to the realization that I was growing. Not exponentially, but I was indeed growing.

Back to the resolutions….those might never really be achieved unless you have a growth plan. A growth plan is something that breaks down elements within your life to your minutest. Mind the minutest, like Brother Martin used to say when we were in SMACK. From financial targets to spiritual to physical, and also the relationship ones. We tend to forget that growth is compounded. Look at it this way, if your hands grew faster than your head or legs, what would that look like? A growth plan helps you achieve this evenly, or rather relatively evenly.

We all grow. Tomorrow, I will be a day older, but would I be richer, wiser or even better? So, get down to the nitty gritty of your life and develop a growth plan for every aspect of your life and see the wonders it would do for you.

And before I forget, ‘NEW’ year resolutions should be a sequence and a continued effort from previous resolutions. Having different resolutions every other time will only frustrate you. But I am sure when you see it the way I now do, you will understand what needs to be done.

Take your time, enjoy the process, and when you awake tomorrow, you might as well be wiser, richer, healthier and happy.

Aha, mid year blues.

 

Leave a Reply

