Forgiving

If I had a bullet for everyone that hurt me then well, there would be many ghosts haunting me.

The hardest thing to do is to forgive. And I am pretty sure it’s not the actual forgiving that’s hard, it’s letting go of the reason as to why you shouldn’t forgive them in the first place that is the hardest. I’ve been on this three months spiritual trek and it’s been amazing, difficult and amazing. And prior to this last week’s preaching, a name kept on popping/playing at the back of my mind. It just wouldn’t stop nagging me whenever I had a moment to myself.

For the whole week prior to Sunday, I kept on wondering why the name was on mind.

So, on Sunday, after preaching, one of the key points was to forgive as a form of love. The truth is that God is Love, and so if He can love us, and forgive us, and we are created in His image, then why shouldn’t we forgive as well. And when we forgive, make sure that we have forgiven.

Among the few things that have transformed in my life since this journey began is to let go, and Let God. There was pain I was holding on to, a pain that kept on strangling the spirit, a pain that had a soul tie, a pain that I had unconsciously held onto. So when that name popped up, surprise surprise. I blamed this person for causing this pain…we humans can be feeble sometimes, share the blame or just throw it on someone, and this pain always brought about an anger that I didn’t like at all.

Back to Sunday…

So our assignment was simple, forgive that person you believed has caused you pain. And honestly forgive them. Don’t do it for them, do it for yourself. Do it for your soul. And also love or share a form of love with three random people. And thus, after church was done, I sat down, meditated for a little bit and then wrote an email, apologizing first and asking for forgiveness and forgiving as well.

No, it doesn’t just randomly go away but I know I was at peace. I had forgiven, and there was no backsies. And I felt lighter, happier. I sometimes sit and muse at how sometimes the hardest things to do give the greatest rewards. And so, I choose to forgive. And love. Never the easiest things to do but I believe they are the most rewarding.

Anywho, my acts of love;

Thanks for reading this blog. Thanks to those that share, like and comment. I sometimes are reclusive but I appreciate every click. Love you guys 😊

2 thoughts on “Forgiving

  1. Sounds so easy -the forgiveness I mean, how you went and just wrote an email and felt at peace. Until recently, I’ve never really struggled with forgiveness. I think it’s a journey and as long as you deliberately purpose to get to the end of it, you do. It’s only fair that you go through the hurt and the pain really -in fact you must, there’d otherwise be no forgiveness. I’m on my journey. It’s quite slow but I hope I’ll get there. 😊

    1. In truth, that’s just the first part. I am now struggling with the second part. The putting into action what you intended to do. It’s a journey and you have to purpose your life and actually forgive. I said it, and felt relieved that I said it. And now that I’ve said it, do I actually intend to mean it. It’s been three weeks and I feel overwhelmed, sometimes even doubtful but I will eventually forgive. I am glad you are doing the same. And allowing the journey to heal and cleanse you for there’s no healing without pain.

Leave a Reply

