Series 14: Post 4

Her Kabaaya!

Sundays are usually for Sundaying but today, a phoenix burnt down into ashes, and in heaven they will rise.

Ann Kabaaya I first heard about in 2016 when my wife kept talking about her friend trying to finish her school in Dar. She was completing her law degree and was submitting her final report.

And today, we learnt of her passing in the morning. The phone call came with instructions to sit first before we received the news; and when we sat…

Ann lived her life like the phoenix she was! Full of life and happiness. Her joy, infectious. And I pray my wife can find peace and joy in knowing that Ann truly lived.

We’ve spent the day reminiscing how many plans they’d made and how she was supposed to come drop our son’s birthday gift! Only great memories.

Teezy who also passed in the same accident is a friend I remember mentoring when he was still in architecture school. Forward looking, smart and a go getter. I’d followed his journey since then and I had been impressed by what he was doing and how he was going it!

So, this post is a celebration and a toast to them!

And most of all, to Ann, my wife’s Kabaaya!

Leave a comment